Why I choose to be a Psychology major

I am a psychology student currently going for a bachelors, then masters degree to pursue counseling in either schools or to open my own office. When I was 6 I was diagnosed with ADHD (attention deficit hyperactivity disorder), few months ago I was diagnosed with major depressive disorder, and just recently had to take a test for generalized anxiety disorder as well.

Allow me to explain what psychology is to begin with, psychology essentially the study of the human mind. Pretty neat, right? I mean I’m basically studying how my own brain works, so I should know the ropes by now, right?

Wrong. For years I have struggled with anxiety and depression and it is something I constantly have to work at. About 3 years ago I began counseling and quickly found that my counselor really wasn’t the best fit. It wasn’t that she was bad at her job, but she didn’t really give much of a solution and gave me a lot of the, “…and how does that make you feel?” I tried to get past it, but between a busy schedule and a long distance relationship it was hard to keep myself from drowning in my own thoughts. Keep in mind that this has been a feeling for years, but only recently got worse. I now take Wellbutrin on a daily basis to correct my brain chemicals.

In high school I did projects and decided that mental disorders were actually fascinating and thanks to an amazing teacher my senior year, I decided that psychology would be my field going into college. But, I have been told that I can’t make it because I can’t even help myself. Yet, the way I see it is I’ll actually have an advantage in helping people. My mental disorders can actually come in handy. When you have depression, anxiety, etc. it can be hard to relate to people, especially someone you’re seeking treatment from, at least that’s how I felt. I didn’t think that my counselor really understood what it was like to be in my shoes. By typical standards she was a decent counselor, but she just didn’t seem to get it.

So, long story short I decided that becoming a counselor could maybe put my disorders to good use and help someone else overcome theirs. If you know someone struggling, please encourage them to get help and try to understand how they are feeling to the best of your ability. Be loving and compassionate. Be kind and just be there.

Leave a Reply

