What Married at 19 Looks Like

In today’s day and age everyone thinks you have to be graduated with a bachelors, have a steady job, date around, and have your life completely together before you tie the knot.

However, sometimes life decides otherwise.

When I was 17, I met this guy in the hallway on picture day of senior year. I noticed he had on a Mayday Parade shirt and decided to say something as I passed by. So when he passed I simply said, “Hey! I like your shirt!” and he just kind of glanced in my direction and kept walking. So, I just kept walking.

Now, little did I know that this would be the person I would end up marrying two years later. We had a mutual friend that talked me into joining their band and at the time I had no idea that this guy had a crush on me and had for a while now… despite ignoring me when I got the guts to say hey. We quickly became good friends and I developed a bit of a crush that I wrote off because I was already in a relationship. So, when senior year ended we just kind of lost touch and I thought that was that.

The first year of college was incredibly tough, not because of college itself, but the people I had in my life. When it came to an end, the relationship I was in at the time imploded and left me more of a mess than I typically am, and Nick came to the rescue. The morning after the implosion of a relationship that hadn’t been one for months, I woke up a Snapchat from Nick asking if I was okay and that he’d love to see me when he came home from basic training.

When Nick did come home, I told my mom that I’d be going to a bonfire with him and the first words out of her mouth were, “It’s a date.” Now, me oblivious as always, disagreed and said that it was just two friends getting back together and seeing other friends. Needless to say I have never been more wrong.  The rest of the month he was home we spent every day together, fell in love, and it just kind of went from there.

We decided to get married over spring break this year so I could go with him to his next base, and in order to do that I had to fly to Seoul, South Korea.

So, as of March 15th, I became someone’s wife and I don’t think I’ve ever been happier.

A lot of people said we’re too young, we are way in over our heads, and that we were rushing things, and they were wrong. Maybe I’m 20 years old and married, but that just means I get more time to spend with the man I’m meant to be with longer, that we get to grow together as people, and if something happens, we just get to get through it together.

I once read an analogy that said that getting married early was like leaving a party before 9 p.m.. So? I’ve never been a party person anyways? If I left the party early that just means I get to go home to be with someone I can dance in the kitchen with at 1 a.m., binge watch Netflix with, and fall asleep next to.

Getting married young doesn’t mean my life is over, it means it’s just beginning.

 

Leave a Reply

